Two English Poems – Jorge Luis Borges

Two English poems

I.
The useless dawn finds me in a deserted streetcorner; I have outlived the night.
Nights are proud waves: darkblue topheavy waves laden with all hues of deep spoil, laden with things unlikely and desirable.
Nights have a habit of mysterious gifts and refusals, of things half given away, half witheld, of joys with a dark hemisphere.
The surge, that night, left me the customary shreds and odd ends: some hated friends to chat with. music for dreams, and the smoking of bitter ashes. The things my hungry heart has no use for.
The big wave brought you.
Words, any words, your laughter; and you so lazily and incessantly beautiful. We talked and you have forgotten the words.
The shattering dawn finds me in a deserted street of my city.
Your profile turned away, the sounds that go to make your name, the lilt of your laughter: these are the illustious toys you have left me.
I turn them over in the dawn, I lose them, I find them; I tell them to the few stray dogs and to the few stray stars of the dawn.
Your dark rich life.
I must get at you, somehow: I put away those illustious toys you have left me, I want your hidden look, your real smile -that lonely, mocking smile you cool mirror knows.

II.
What can I hold you with?
I offer you lean streets, desperate sunsets, the moon of the jagged suburbs.
I offer you the bitterness of a man who has looked long and long at the lonely moon.
I offer you my ancestors, my dead men, the ghosts that living men have honoured in marble: my father’s father killed in the frontier of Buenos Aires, two bullets through his lungs, bearded and dead, wrapped by his soldiers in the hide of a cow; my mother’s grandfather -just twentyfour- heading a charge of three hundred men in Perú, now ghosts on vanished horses.
I offer you whatever insight my books may hold. whatever manliness or humour my life.
I offer you the loyalty of a man who has never been loyal.
I offer you that kernel of myself that I have saved somehow -the central heart that deals not in words, traffics not with dreams and is untouched by time, by joy, by adversities.
I offer you the memory of a yellow rose seen at sunset, years before you were born.
I offer you explanationsof yourself, theories about yourself, authentic and surprising news of yourself.
I can give you my loneliness, my darkness, the hunger of my heart; I am trying to bribe you with uncertainty, with danger, with defeat.

 

  Jorge Luis Borges  

 

Dos poemas ingleses (I)

                                                  A Beatriz Bibiloni Webster de Bullrich

Las albas inútiles me encuentran en un recodo desierto:
                    he sobrevivido la noche.
Las noches son olas altivas: olas de crespón azul marino con matices
                    de hondos despojos, cargadas de cosas inverosímiles y deseables.
Las noches tienen el hábito de dones y rechazos misteriosos, de cosas
                    medio dadas, medio retenidas, de gozos con hemisferio oscuro.
                    Así actúan las noches, te lo digo.
La resaca, aquella noche, me dejó los consabidos jirones y cabos
                    sueltos: algunos amigos detestados con quienes charlar, música
                    para soñar y el humo de amargas cenizas. Las cosas para las que
                    mi hambriento corazón no tiene empleo.
La gran ola te trajo.
Palabras, cualquier palabra, tu risa; y tú tan perezosa e incesantemente
                     bella. Hablamos y tú has olvidado las palabras.
El alba frustrante me encuentra en una calle desierta de mi ciudad.
Tu perfil dado vuelta, los sonidos que van a hacer tu nombre, el timbre
                    de tu risa: esos son los juguetes ilustres que me has dejado.
Yo se los entrego al alba, los pierdo, los encuentro; se los digo a los
                    pocos perros extraviados y a las pocas estrellas extraviadas
                     del alba.
Tu rica vida oscura…
Debo llegar a ti, de algún modo: pongo a un lado esos juguetes ilustres
                    que me has dejado, quiero tu mirada oculta, tu sonrisa verdadera
                     – esa sonrisa solitaria, burlona, que tu frío espejo conoce.

De El otro, el mismo

Selección y traducción: Juana Rosa Pita

JORGE LUIS BORGES

 

Dos poemas ingleses (II)

                                                            A Beatriz Bibiloni Webster de Bullrich

Con qué puedo retenerte?
Te ofrezco angostas calles, crepúsculos desesperados, la luna
de los viejos arrabales.
Te ofrezco la amargura de un hombre que ha mirado largamente
la luna solitaria.
Te ofrezco mis ancestros, mis muertos, los fantasmas que los
vivos han honrado en mármol: el padre de mi padre muerto
en la frontera de Buenos Aires, dos balas a través de sus
pulmones, barbado y muerto, envuelto por sus soldados
en un cuero de vaca; el abuelo de mi madre – de sólo 24 –
al frente de una carga de trescientos hombres en el Perú,
ahora fantasmas sobre caballos desaparecidos.
Te ofrezco cualquier percepción que haya en mis libros, cualquier
hombría o humor en mi vida.
Te ofrezco la lealtad de un hombre que nunca ha sido leal.
Te ofrezco el núcleo de mi ser que he reservado, de algún modo – el
corazón central que ni trata con palabras ni trafica en sueños
y está intocado por el tiempo, por el gozo y las adversidades.
Te ofrezco la memoria de una rosa amarilla vista al crepúsculo, años
antes de tu nacimiento.
Te ofrezco explicaciones de ti misma, teorías sobre ti misma, genuinas
y sorprendentes noticias de ti misma.
Te puedo dar mi soledad, mi oscuridad, el hambre de mi corazón;
estoy tratando de sobornarte con incertidumbre, con
peligro, con derrota.

De El otro, el mismo
Selección y traducción: Juana Rosa Pita

JORGE LUIS BORGES

Responder

